1.0.8.4 freeze

everything about the previous stable version

Moderator: Moderator

User avatar
arj
Site Admin
Posts: 2316
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 8:51 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

1.0.8.4 freeze

Postby arj » Sun May 06, 2007 8:46 pm

Hi

As discussed on the first IRC meeting we now have a 2 months schedule for releases in the 1.0.8 series. We will try to minimize the amount of changes to mostly bugfixes and translation updates so 1.0.8.X releases should be a safe update route. To make sure that the bugfixes doesn't introduce any "unwanted" side effects (aka regressions) we actively encourage you all to test out the latest version. The way we do this is by having a freeze 5 weeks after last release (now) and then do the release 3 weeks after that.

User avatar
arj
Site Admin
Posts: 2316
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 8:51 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Postby arj » Wed May 23, 2007 9:54 pm

The next release is in a week. Please hammer the current bzr version. Thanks :P

User avatar
PT
veteran
Posts: 119
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 9:08 pm
Location: Denmark

Postby PT » Thu May 24, 2007 8:21 pm

Can you tell a little about the main differences between 1.0.8.3 and 1.0.8.4?
1.0.8.3 runs pretty (very) good 8)

User avatar
arj
Site Admin
Posts: 2316
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 8:51 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Postby arj » Thu May 24, 2007 9:04 pm

It's basically just a bunch of bugfixes. Upgrading should be very simple, just replace the binary.

User avatar
PT
veteran
Posts: 119
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 9:08 pm
Location: Denmark

Postby PT » Thu May 24, 2007 9:36 pm

I only want to install from source :-)
Anyway, when 1.0.8.3 is setup correctly I must admit I can only find minor errors. I look forward to see the change list.

User avatar
Uatschitchun
Overlord
Posts: 3189
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 6:55 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Postby Uatschitchun » Fri May 25, 2007 6:55 am

PT wrote:Can you tell a little about the main differences between 1.0.8.3 and 1.0.8.4?

Here you are:
https://code.launchpad.net/~anders-gnulinux/mms/1.0.9
AfaIr 1.0.8.3 = rev. 1146

Anyway, when 1.0.8.3 is setup correctly I must admit I can only find minor errors.

Can you tell a little more about these "minor errors"? And what "setup correctly" stands for?

Thx
Lg
Roman

User avatar
PT
veteran
Posts: 119
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 9:08 pm
Location: Denmark

Postby PT » Fri May 25, 2007 11:05 pm

I can't find any major errors :twisted:

Only one which depends of the integration between other programs, but it also depends of which audio driver I am using. Again: It depends, and may not be an mms error:

I have experienced that the volume can start pretty loud when I exit from an external application and return to mms.

Currently, no problem and it may not be an mms error.

--

IMO, very good work.

User avatar
naicheben
Overlord
Posts: 1332
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 12:50 pm
Location: Germany/Leck
Contact:

Minor Error

Postby naicheben » Tue Jun 12, 2007 8:27 pm

All my settings in /var/lib/mms/options are reset after restarting MMSv2 1.0.8.4 . Is there a way to fix it? It can't even remember the volume.

Then I increased volume and played internet radio and it remembered.
Even repeat=yes is remembered.....

strange ...

Reboot and volume=0 again ...

When is it writing back /var/lib/mms/options with default volume=0 ???

User avatar
arj
Site Admin
Posts: 2316
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 8:51 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Postby arj » Tue Jun 12, 2007 9:39 pm

I don't understand. Does mms reset all options or only volume on restart?

MMS writes the volume the audio player gives it on exit and uses it again when starting up to restore the volume.

User avatar
naicheben
Overlord
Posts: 1332
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 12:50 pm
Location: Germany/Leck
Contact:

Postby naicheben » Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:03 pm

When I startet mms and volume was 0 I raised the volume and stoped mms. When I then startet mms again, volume was back to 0.

Then I raised the volume again, played some music from the internet and stoped mms. After starting mms again volume was still at 80% but after restarting mms without playing music, volume was back to 0.

So it looks like its going back to 0 if you stop mms without having listened to music.

EDIT: no, thats not true, it even looses volume after playing music.

User avatar
naicheben
Overlord
Posts: 1332
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 12:50 pm
Location: Germany/Leck
Contact:

Postby naicheben » Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:35 pm

Ahhhh now I see:
one must not try to raise the volume after starting mms. You first have to start music then it reads the stored values. If you raise the volume in the main menu, it assumes that volume=0 (so it does not look into the option file at startup)

I did not go through all other setting but had nearly same effect with repeat=yes/no but can not gain it to missbehave anymore :D

User avatar
arj
Site Admin
Posts: 2316
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 8:51 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Postby arj » Wed Jun 13, 2007 8:53 pm

That's really strange. Before mms goes into the startmenu it reads the old playlist and in the process loads the old volume. In the console you'll see: "loading last saved playlist".

So I can neither reproduce your bug by reading the code nor by trying to do the same steps on my system.

What audio player? And did you check the options file? What was the volume set to? What is the pcm value after you load mms (you can check it using something like alsamixer)?

User avatar
naicheben
Overlord
Posts: 1332
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 12:50 pm
Location: Germany/Leck
Contact:

Postby naicheben » Wed Jun 13, 2007 9:42 pm

I just watched a movie. Closed MMS

Startup MMS

Code: Select all

root@SMT-7020S:~# cat /var/lib/mms/options
sorting,directories first
repeat,yes
shuffle,off
bitrate,0
audio mode,stereo
dvd audio language,de
subtitle language,none
vcd title,1
dvd title,1
slideshow delay,10
zoom to fullscreen,no
show previews,yes
recurse dirs in fullscreen,no
cur_theme,standard
volume,0
playlist_pos,0
play_now_warning,1
imdb_warning,0


alsamixer Master is 55%, PCM 95%

Then I press +Vol on the remotecontrol until its 100%

I play a movie and stop it again (volume was fine)

Code: Select all

root@SMT-7020S:~# alsamixer

root@SMT-7020S:~# cat /var/lib/mms/options
sorting,directories first
repeat,yes
shuffle,off
bitrate,0
audio mode,stereo
dvd audio language,de
subtitle language,none
vcd title,1
dvd title,1
slideshow delay,10
zoom to fullscreen,no
show previews,yes
recurse dirs in fullscreen,no
cur_theme,standard
volume,0
playlist_pos,0
play_now_warning,1
imdb_warning,0


Then I played Internetradio and while playing:

Code: Select all

root@SMT-7020S:~# cat /var/lib/mms/options
sorting,directories first
repeat,yes
shuffle,off
bitrate,0
audio mode,stereo
dvd audio language,de
subtitle language,none
vcd title,1
dvd title,1
slideshow delay,10
zoom to fullscreen,no
show previews,yes
recurse dirs in fullscreen,no
cur_theme,standard
volume,0
playlist_pos,0
play_now_warning,1
imdb_warning,0


Stoped playing (same output)

Stoped MMSv2

Code: Select all

root@SMT-7020S:~# cat /var/lib/mms/options
sorting,directories first
repeat,yes
shuffle,off
bitrate,0
audio mode,stereo
dvd audio language,de
subtitle language,none
vcd title,1
dvd title,1
slideshow delay,10
zoom to fullscreen,no
show previews,yes
recurse dirs in fullscreen,no
cur_theme,standard
volume,100
playlist_pos,0
play_now_warning,1
imdb_warning,0


Started MMS (same output)

Played a movie (same output)

Stoped MMS and restarted it again (automaticly)

Guess what:

Code: Select all

root@SMT-7020S:~# cat /var/lib/mms/options
sorting,directories first
repeat,yes
shuffle,off
bitrate,0
audio mode,stereo
dvd audio language,de
subtitle language,none
vcd title,1
dvd title,1
slideshow delay,10
zoom to fullscreen,no
show previews,yes
recurse dirs in fullscreen,no
cur_theme,standard
volume,0
playlist_pos,0
play_now_warning,1
imdb_warning,0


compiled with --enable-xine-audio
using SDL

The values in the alsamixer did never change unless I try to raise the volume after starting mms right in the Starntmenu.

User avatar
arj
Site Admin
Posts: 2316
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 8:51 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Postby arj » Wed Jun 13, 2007 10:42 pm

Ah that explains it. The setvol function (called on startup) in xine is empty for some reason.

Fixed in revno 1.0.9 revno 1170. Thanks for the report :)


Return to “1.0.8”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests