Bug in picture-preview

everything about the previous stable version

Moderator: Moderator

User avatar
acmelabs
Overlord
Posts: 2365
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 9:18 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Bug in picture-preview

Postby acmelabs » Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:18 am

Hi,
I've reported this already, but now I think it's a good possibility to include it into Romans bug-collection of 1.0.8.1. if anybody is able to reproduce it.

Bug-description:
    1) Install mms
    2) start mms
    3) go into picture menu
    4) view pictures
    5) go one step back
    6) add new pictures (new folder)
    7) go into pictures again, and select the new folder

    here's the screenshot:
      Image


As a workaround, I'm using a "make install" at the moment.

Regards,

Andreas

User avatar
Uatschitchun
Overlord
Posts: 3189
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 6:55 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Postby Uatschitchun » Thu Nov 23, 2006 8:17 am

Hi, acmelabs ...

I tried to reproduce ... but I can't :cry:

I did the following:

0. Remove all cached items (for me it's in /var/cache/mms)
1. Start MMS
2. Go into Pictures
3. Navigate to a folder containing folders with pictures underneath
4. Go into one of these folders, view (and let MMS generate) the thumbs, view some of these pictures
5. Going back to 3.
6. Add a new folder containing pix to the folder of 3.
7. MMS does not display this new folder cause of not having "reloaded the directories" until now
8. Go one folder further back and into 3. again having the new folder displayed
9. Go into the new folder, having the thumbs correctly displayed
10. Even the pictures work fullscreen

??? (ah no, it must name Dr3i now :twisted: scnr

Did that procedure a few times with always the same steps.
Did that procedure a few times with different folders for 3. and different "new folders" for 6.

Did I do something different than you did?

Lg
Roman

User avatar
acmelabs
Overlord
Posts: 2365
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 9:18 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Postby acmelabs » Thu Nov 23, 2006 8:37 am

Uatschitchun wrote:Hi, acmelabs ...

I tried to reproduce ... but I can't :cry:

I did the following:

0. Remove all cached items (for me it's in /var/cache/mms)
1. Start MMS
2. Go into Pictures
3. Navigate to a folder containing folders with pictures underneath
4. Go into one of these folders, view (and let MMS generate) the thumbs, view some of these pictures
5. Going back to 3.
6. Add a new folder containing pix to the folder of 3.
7. MMS does not display this new folder cause of not having "reloaded the directories" until now
8. Go one folder further back and into 3. again having the new folder displayed
9. Go into the new folder, having the thumbs correctly displayed
10. Even the pictures work fullscreen

??? (ah no, it must name Dr3i now :twisted: scnr

Did that procedure a few times with always the same steps.
Did that procedure a few times with different folders for 3. and different "new folders" for 6.

Did I do something different than you did?

Lg
Roman

f*ck!
no, you did it very well. Thanks a lot!
But I must admit, I've copied /var/cache from the living-room PC. the bug must be in my old cache-files (2.6GB!)
Will also delete /var/cache, and rerun the thumbs over night.

Thanks again!

Andreas

User avatar
Uatschitchun
Overlord
Posts: 3189
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 6:55 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Postby Uatschitchun » Thu Nov 23, 2006 9:54 am

Pls!

I'll keep it in the list as "unproofed" as long as you or others can't confirm correct behaviour ...

Lg
Roman

User avatar
arj
Site Admin
Posts: 2316
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 8:51 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Postby arj » Sun Nov 26, 2006 2:20 pm

acmelabs wrote:
Uatschitchun wrote:Hi, acmelabs ...

I tried to reproduce ... but I can't :cry:

I did the following:

0. Remove all cached items (for me it's in /var/cache/mms)
1. Start MMS
2. Go into Pictures
3. Navigate to a folder containing folders with pictures underneath
4. Go into one of these folders, view (and let MMS generate) the thumbs, view some of these pictures
5. Going back to 3.
6. Add a new folder containing pix to the folder of 3.
7. MMS does not display this new folder cause of not having "reloaded the directories" until now
8. Go one folder further back and into 3. again having the new folder displayed
9. Go into the new folder, having the thumbs correctly displayed
10. Even the pictures work fullscreen

??? (ah no, it must name Dr3i now :twisted: scnr

Did that procedure a few times with always the same steps.
Did that procedure a few times with different folders for 3. and different "new folders" for 6.

Did I do something different than you did?

Lg
Roman

f*ck!
no, you did it very well. Thanks a lot!
But I must admit, I've copied /var/cache from the living-room PC. the bug must be in my old cache-files (2.6GB!)
Will also delete /var/cache, and rerun the thumbs over night.


Any update on this?

User avatar
Uatschitchun
Overlord
Posts: 3189
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 6:55 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Postby Uatschitchun » Sun Nov 26, 2006 4:23 pm

Haven't tested further on ...

Lg
Roman

User avatar
acmelabs
Overlord
Posts: 2365
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 9:18 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Postby acmelabs » Sun Nov 26, 2006 7:04 pm

Uatschitchun wrote:Haven't tested further on ...

Lg
Roman

Hmm, I've recreated my picture-lib. Followed my own description to reproduce the bug, but it's not showing up.
Then I've sent my system to sleep, woke it up, and done the test again. Result: broken thumbnails, CPU: 99% usage by MMS. Stopping and starting MMS solves the problem (No "make install"). And even worse: I couldn't reproduce the bug after a second suspend.
Dunno what's wrong with my suspend script (http://as68.homeip.net/mms/mms-misc/ks3), since mms is restarted from scratch.
I'm really sorry to devil you with all this.
@Roman: take it off your list if you like, at least untill I've found a reliable solution to reproduce this bug for everybody.

Regards,

Andreas
Last edited by acmelabs on Thu Mar 01, 2007 7:13 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Uatschitchun
Overlord
Posts: 3189
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 6:55 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Postby Uatschitchun » Mon Nov 27, 2006 8:38 am

acmelabs wrote:@Roman: take it off your list if you like, at least untill I've found a reliable solution to reproduce this bug for everybody.


I love those self-solving bugs ;)

Lg
Roman


Return to “1.0.8”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest