Change some names

Moderator: Moderator

User avatar
castorinop
veteran
Posts: 331
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 6:34 pm
Location: Argentina
Contact:

Change some names

Postby castorinop » Mon Jan 05, 2009 1:27 pm

hi:
i propose change some names (in plugins, menus). for example
Movies -> Video (more global: Music Video, Series, Concerts etc)
random winamp -> random simple
show lyrics -> show screensaver
menu Search (starmenu) -> Utilities
menu Scripts (startmenu) -> Extras

User avatar
arj
Site Admin
Posts: 2316
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 8:51 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Change some names

Postby arj » Mon Jan 05, 2009 5:32 pm

castorinop wrote:hi:
i propose change some names (in plugins, menus). for example
Movies -> Video (more global: Music Video, Series, Concerts etc)
random winamp -> random simple
show lyrics -> show screensaver
menu Search (starmenu) -> Utilities
menu Scripts (startmenu) -> Extras


Yes, I agree. If no one barks up I'll fix this soonish.

User avatar
Uatschitchun
Overlord
Posts: 3189
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 6:55 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Change some names

Postby Uatschitchun » Tue Jan 06, 2009 7:46 am

castorinop wrote:menu Search (starmenu) -> Utilities
menu Scripts (startmenu) -> Extras

Don't understand these 2 ?!
Lg
Roman

User avatar
arj
Site Admin
Posts: 2316
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 8:51 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Change some names

Postby arj » Tue Jan 06, 2009 4:52 pm

I think extras means extra functionality in this case. The reason why I liked it, is that probably more people will understand it. Since maybe not everyone knows what a script is :)

Search is wrong, since it has search, options, themes in that row. So when the row is not selected it should better be described as Utilities. Just a generic name I guess for all the stuff that didn't fit anywhere else :D

User avatar
Uatschitchun
Overlord
Posts: 3189
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 6:55 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Change some names

Postby Uatschitchun » Tue Jan 06, 2009 5:02 pm

Ah ok .. got it ... needs extra translations then again ;)
Lg

Roman

User avatar
castorinop
veteran
Posts: 331
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 6:34 pm
Location: Argentina
Contact:

Re: Change some names

Postby castorinop » Tue Jan 06, 2009 6:00 pm

:D

User avatar
Uatschitchun
Overlord
Posts: 3189
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 6:55 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Change some names

Postby Uatschitchun » Fri Jan 09, 2009 10:12 pm

castorino, could you open a bug on that, pls?
Lg

Roman

User avatar
castorinop
veteran
Posts: 331
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 6:34 pm
Location: Argentina
Contact:

Re: Change some names

Postby castorinop » Fri Jan 23, 2009 4:23 pm

i have a spanish translation update. to who send it ?

User avatar
Uatschitchun
Overlord
Posts: 3189
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 6:55 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Change some names

Postby Uatschitchun » Fri Jan 23, 2009 5:47 pm

Anders
Lg

Roman

User avatar
arj
Site Admin
Posts: 2316
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 8:51 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Change some names

Postby arj » Fri Jan 23, 2009 7:21 pm

Nice, now we just need Italian :twisted:

User avatar
castorinop
veteran
Posts: 331
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 6:34 pm
Location: Argentina
Contact:

Re: Change some names

Postby castorinop » Sat Jan 24, 2009 4:05 pm

Uatschitchun wrote:Anders

mail ?

User avatar
arj
Site Admin
Posts: 2316
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 8:51 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Change some names

Postby arj » Sat Jan 24, 2009 7:37 pm


User avatar
mengedej
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2008 8:15 pm

Re: Change some names

Postby mengedej » Sat Mar 21, 2009 8:02 pm

Can I suggest something perhaps unorthodox? While you are at it, why not change the main menu as well?
Currently
"Videos" becomes
"Play video from harddrive"
"Play an dvd/svcd/vcd"
(or something close to that)

It would look a lot better if the word "Video" remain the first word in these scentances.
Video
Video - play from HDD
Video - play from DVD
etc..
The same goes for most other entries in the menu, pictures, audio etc.

In my opinion, since the current menu replaces the whole string the untrained eye easily 'loose track'...

User avatar
acmelabs
Overlord
Posts: 2365
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 9:18 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Change some names

Postby acmelabs » Sat Mar 21, 2009 10:34 pm

mengedej wrote:Can I suggest something perhaps unorthodox? While you are at it, why not change the main menu as well?
Currently
"Videos" becomes
"Play video from harddrive"
"Play an dvd/svcd/vcd"
(or something close to that)

It would look a lot better if the word "Video" remain the first word in these scentances.
Video
Video - play from HDD
Video - play from DVD
etc..
The same goes for most other entries in the menu, pictures, audio etc.

In my opinion, since the current menu replaces the whole string the untrained eye easily 'loose track'...

I fully agree, and second that. I've noticed this many many times, but I never mentioned that, because I thought it's not important, or it's only me who see it.
And I didn't forget the "old men scroller" aka Scroll-Lock. This is still confusing/irritating when scrolling through content.

Regards,
Andreas

User avatar
Uatschitchun
Overlord
Posts: 3189
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 6:55 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Change some names

Postby Uatschitchun » Sun Mar 22, 2009 8:56 am

In german translation I did it like that ;)
Lg

Roman


Return to “feature requests”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest