Alternative StartMenu

everything about the next not so big update

Moderator: Moderator

User avatar
castorinop
veteran
Posts: 331
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 6:34 pm
Location: Argentina
Contact:

Postby castorinop » Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:35 pm

changelog
  • Stretching support (720x480 to 1024x768) without change theme configuration
  • Fix position of icons
  • testing on 1.0.9-patch-63

The patch (maybe RC1) http://www.castorinop.com.ar/alternative_startmenu-0.4.parch

User avatar
acmelabs
Overlord
Posts: 2365
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 9:18 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Postby acmelabs » Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:44 pm

castorinop wrote:changelog
  • Stretching support (720x480 to 1024x768) without change theme configuration
  • Fix position of icons
  • testing on 1.0.9-patch-63
The patch (maybe RC1) http://www.castorinop.com.ar/alternative_startmenu-0.4.parch

sorry, can't download:

Code: Select all

root@vulcan:/usr/src/mms/MMS# wget http://www.castorinop.com.ar/alternative_startmenu-0.4.parch
--20:43:11--  http://www.castorinop.com.ar/alternative_startmenu-0.4.parch
           => `alternative_startmenu-0.4.parch'
Auflösen des Hostnamen »www.castorinop.com.ar«.... fehlgeschlagen: Temporary failure in name resolution.


Andreas

User avatar
acmelabs
Overlord
Posts: 2365
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 9:18 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Postby acmelabs » Wed Feb 28, 2007 8:20 pm

Finally got it:

Looks brilliant! More comments to come. Will test later. THANKS!!
Really brilliant also the solution without any adjustment in the config. Just an own theme.conf and that's it! Great!!
Image

Regards,

Andreas
Last edited by acmelabs on Tue Mar 06, 2007 8:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
acmelabs
Overlord
Posts: 2365
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 9:18 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Postby acmelabs » Wed Feb 28, 2007 8:41 pm

for the interested, here's a deb for Edgy:

http://mms.mymediasystem.net/mms-misc/p ... -1_deb.deb

and the theme for 16:10 is here:

http://mms.mymediasystem.net/mms-misc/p ... ablito.tgz
You can use it for any ratio, the only disadvantage would be a stretched tux ;-)

And don't forget to copy the font into the right place (see some postings above)

Regards,
Andreas
Last edited by acmelabs on Tue Mar 06, 2007 8:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

esprit
master
Posts: 503
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 5:50 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Postby esprit » Wed Feb 28, 2007 8:49 pm

Again the crash when going menu down :(
X Error of failed request: BadValue (integer parameter out of range for operation)
Major opcode of failed request: 146 (MIT-SHM)
Minor opcode of failed request: 3 (X_ShmPutImage)
Value in failed request: 0xffed
Serial number of failed request: 39
Current serial number in output stream: 40


Even after going to 1280x1024
I think it's perhaps a problem with a french accentued char in the menu title : é

If I go to a font size of 30, then no crash, but if bigger => crash
(and there is still lot of room, so not a too large text problem)

By the way, the selected icon problem seems fixed ?
What was the problem ?

esprit
master
Posts: 503
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 5:50 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Postby esprit » Wed Feb 28, 2007 8:57 pm

tested with LANG=en_EN.UTF8 => same problem so not a problem with the accent character

User avatar
castorinop
veteran
Posts: 331
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 6:34 pm
Location: Argentina
Contact:

Postby castorinop » Wed Feb 28, 2007 10:30 pm

esprit wrote:Again the crash when going menu down :(
X Error of failed request: BadValue (integer parameter out of range for operation)
Major opcode of failed request: 146 (MIT-SHM)
Minor opcode of failed request: 3 (X_ShmPutImage)
Value in failed request: 0xffed
Serial number of failed request: 39
Current serial number in output stream: 40


Even after going to 1280x1024
I think it's perhaps a problem with a french accentued char in the menu title : é

If I go to a font size of 30, then no crash, but if bigger => crash
(and there is still lot of room, so not a too large text problem)

By the way, the selected icon problem seems fixed ?
What was the problem ?


That error happens when the coordinates of the elements (images or texts) are smaller to 0. It can be that the language changes the size of the text area. It can be that the images have a margin are transparent and can influence in the size. test with the font size of 32 (it works for my) and 180 icons of maximum.

User avatar
acmelabs
Overlord
Posts: 2365
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 9:18 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Postby acmelabs » Thu Mar 01, 2007 6:32 pm

Hi,
I'm using your patch in the livingroom now. No glitches so far. I really like the concept. If one likes to use the standard theme, he can just select it, and voila.
Very cool. And I like the big icons too, they are large and good visible on this screen.

Thanks for this wonderful patch.

I will use it now in the livingroom for a while, and write later my impressions considering the text-size and/or position of it. For now it's OK.

Thanks, Regards,
Andreas

User avatar
castorinop
veteran
Posts: 331
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 6:34 pm
Location: Argentina
Contact:

Postby castorinop » Thu Mar 01, 2007 6:34 pm

acmelabs wrote:Hi,
I'm using your patch in the livingroom now. No glitches so far. I really like the concept. If one likes to use the standard theme, he can just select it, and voila.
Very cool. And I like the big icons too, they are large and good visible on this screen.

Thanks for this wonderful patch.

I will use it now in the livingroom for a while, and write later my impressions considering the text-size and/or position of it. For now it's OK.

Thanks, Regards,
Andreas


:D

esprit
master
Posts: 503
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 5:50 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Postby esprit » Thu Mar 01, 2007 6:38 pm

castorinop wrote:
esprit wrote:Again the crash when going menu down :(
X Error of failed request: BadValue (integer parameter out of range for operation)
Major opcode of failed request: 146 (MIT-SHM)
Minor opcode of failed request: 3 (X_ShmPutImage)
Value in failed request: 0xffed
Serial number of failed request: 39
Current serial number in output stream: 40


Even after going to 1280x1024
I think it's perhaps a problem with a french accentued char in the menu title : é

If I go to a font size of 30, then no crash, but if bigger => crash
(and there is still lot of room, so not a too large text problem)

By the way, the selected icon problem seems fixed ?
What was the problem ?


That error happens when the coordinates of the elements (images or texts) are smaller to 0. It can be that the language changes the size of the text area. It can be that the images have a margin are transparent and can influence in the size. test with the font size of 32 (it works for my) and 180 icons of maximum.

The strange thing is that I tried with the theme from acmelabs + same resolution, and still the same problem... I can't understand what happens :?:

User avatar
castorinop
veteran
Posts: 331
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 6:34 pm
Location: Argentina
Contact:

Postby castorinop » Thu Mar 01, 2007 11:34 pm

esprit wrote:The strange thing is that I tried with the theme from acmelabs + same resolution, and still the same problem... I can't understand what happens :?:


what is you locale and theme ?
test with "make clean && make"

esprit
master
Posts: 503
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 5:50 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Postby esprit » Fri Mar 02, 2007 7:23 am

castorinop wrote:
esprit wrote:The strange thing is that I tried with the theme from acmelabs + same resolution, and still the same problem... I can't understand what happens :?:


what is you locale and theme ?
test with "make clean && make"

tryied with fr_FR and en_EN, same problem.

My theme is the one acmelabs has post here.

Will try the "make clean & make" this evening.

User avatar
acmelabs
Overlord
Posts: 2365
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 9:18 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Postby acmelabs » Fri Mar 02, 2007 11:18 pm

I've tested your patch against patch-71 (round corners) - It's also working here. Would be nice if you keep track. I hope this will go into 1.0.9, but I think not before the article is published.

Thanks,Regards,
Andreas

User avatar
castorinop
veteran
Posts: 331
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 6:34 pm
Location: Argentina
Contact:

Postby castorinop » Wed Mar 07, 2007 3:00 pm

esprit wrote:
castorinop wrote:
esprit wrote:The strange thing is that I tried with the theme from acmelabs + same resolution, and still the same problem... I can't understand what happens :?:


what is you locale and theme ?
test with "make clean && make"

tryied with fr_FR and en_EN, same problem.

My theme is the one acmelabs has post here.

Will try the "make clean & make" this evening.

esprit@ the problem continue ???

esprit
master
Posts: 503
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 5:50 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Postby esprit » Wed Mar 07, 2007 5:31 pm

Didn't have time to test for now


Return to “1.0.9”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest