rc5 freeze

Moderator: Moderator

User avatar
arj
Site Admin
Posts: 2316
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 8:51 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

rc5 freeze

Postby arj » Sun Mar 16, 2008 6:52 pm

Hi

I'm pleased to say that I have branched main branch at revision 1493. So rc5 will be in a week. Please make sure to send your translations! Some languages still needs a lot of strings.

I upgraded our internal ffmpeg snapshot so people with DVB or DXR3 please test. All others are also very welcome to test so that we can fix bugs before the release. Thanks!

User avatar
Uatschitchun
Overlord
Posts: 3189
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 6:55 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Postby Uatschitchun » Sun Mar 16, 2008 8:11 pm

Lg
Roman

parti02
veteran
Posts: 232
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 5:52 pm

Postby parti02 » Mon Mar 17, 2008 2:11 pm

Hi arj,
thanks for it.

Is it possible to add this feature, the discription now is to short to be uselfull.

http://bugs.mymediasystem.org/?do=detai ... &pagenum=4

Gruß
Dirk

User avatar
arj
Site Admin
Posts: 2316
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 8:51 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Postby arj » Mon Mar 17, 2008 7:35 pm

parti02 wrote:Hi arj,
thanks for it.

Is it possible to add this feature, the discription now is to short to be uselfull.

http://bugs.mymediasystem.org/?do=detai ... &pagenum=4


Yeah I saw that one. The ofdb support was contributed by Osman Redzepi. I can try and dig up his email. Since I have never used ofdb nor coded it, I think there is something fundamentally wrong in me adding stuff like that. I do agree that it's sad that requests like these are not taken care of, my idea for handling external changes are:

1) more or less always ok, especially if it's specific to one thing and doesn't touch anything else
2) I'm willing to fix simple mistakes (bugfix, like when ofdb changes layout) since that is relatively simple to do
3) Futher development of the external change should be done by users of it

parti02
veteran
Posts: 232
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 5:52 pm

Postby parti02 » Thu Mar 20, 2008 3:15 pm

thx

User avatar
arj
Site Admin
Posts: 2316
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 8:51 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Postby arj » Sat Mar 22, 2008 11:53 pm

I just did a bunch of bugfixes today. So many that I'm not comfortable doing a rc5 tomorrow with them. And then, it would be lame to have to wait 3 weeks for these bugfixes. This combined with the fact that I have heard 0 reports if the ffmpeg upgrade works has made me delay the release for a week. This also means that it doesn't make sense to do the release without the notification, so rc5 freeze is now revision 1531. This means that rc5 will be released exactly 1 month after rc4.

Please let me know if the internal ffmpeg change snapshot works for you if you're using either dxr3 or dvb output.

Thanks.

User avatar
Uatschitchun
Overlord
Posts: 3189
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 6:55 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Postby Uatschitchun » Sun Mar 23, 2008 8:41 am

Good idea!
Lg

Roman

User avatar
acmelabs
Overlord
Posts: 2365
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 9:18 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Postby acmelabs » Sun Mar 23, 2008 1:07 pm

Uatschitchun wrote:Good idea!
I saw you've been fixing bugs until 4am! Nuts! This is real commitment.

And yes - your decision is quite good, since we've added a bunch of new features into it. Notify-Area and all their impacts onto other modules like weahter, audio and stuff. Just saw that na-weather shows crap if the weather-server isn't available. (bug-report to come).

Tremendous Job. See me bow in humble adoration.

Thanks & Regards,
Andreas

User avatar
Uatschitchun
Overlord
Posts: 3189
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 6:55 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Postby Uatschitchun » Mon Mar 24, 2008 10:54 am

Anders, wasn't it planned, that with beginning of freeze-week, the stable tree gets updated to freeze-revno?
Lg

Roman

User avatar
acmelabs
Overlord
Posts: 2365
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 9:18 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Postby acmelabs » Mon Mar 24, 2008 12:12 pm

Uatschitchun wrote:Anders, wasn't it planned, that with beginning of freeze-week, the stable tree gets updated to freeze-revno?

If Anders would have made so, does this mean the development could go ahead, and we could integrate new features like this one already now, and not even in weeks?

Regards,
Andreas

User avatar
arj
Site Admin
Posts: 2316
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 8:51 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Postby arj » Mon Mar 24, 2008 12:26 pm

Yes to you acmelabs. I just forgot to merge.


Return to “announcements”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest